Upon further review it seems that Ronda Rousey may still be the undefeated UFC bantamweight champion.
The National Football League made some news this week when it decided to have one of their officiating crews review the Ronda Rousey versus Holly Holm fight from Saturday night.
In the actual fight Rousey was knocked out by a kick to the neck from Holm early in the second round.
During a season in which they have been under fire for numerous errors, NFL Comissioner Roger Goodell requested that an NFL crew review the MMA fight and render their decision.
Following a 227 minute review of the four minute bout, the NFL referees stepped out from under the hood of the replay booth and promptly announced that despite being knocked down and beaten senseless, Rousey was the unquestioned winner.
“NFL rules state that because Holm’s toes did not actually connect on the knockout kick, Rousey is still considered a fighter and is ‘capable of warding off contact’ therefore we had no choice but to award her the victory.” stated NFL referee Pete Morelli.
The ruling will be reviewed by the NFL office but isn’t expected to lead to any type of discipline for the crew.
“Mistakes are a part of officiating.” said the league’s head of officiating, Dean Blandino. “And if you watch the NFL every week then you know that they they are a BIG part of it.”