Adam Silver admits “I couldn’t tell the Nets were tanking.”

NBA Commissioner Adam Silver has been questioned as to why he isn’t acting on some of the underhanded methods that are taking place in his league.

For years the NBA has suffered late in the season from a common ploy of teams looking to improve their draft position. These teams rest their best players, and play their journeymen, and do their best to lose on purpose.

lopez-noah

On the final night of the NBA regular season, the Brooklyn Nets rested most of their starters against the Chicago Bulls, and were beaten soundly. The win gave Chicago a playoff berth, while eliminating the Miami Heat from the postseason.

There are a number of critics wondering when the NBA will step in and punish teams for not putting forth their best effort. However, Silver is claiming ignorance on this issue.

“Have you seen the Brooklyn Nets play? I have seen local recreational teams with more talent. How am I supposed to tell if they are “sitting people”? Their entire roster looks like they are sitting people.” the commissioner stated.

“Jeremy Lin? I didn’t even know he was in the league anymore. Sean Kilpatrick? Trevor Booker? Rondae Hollis-Jefferson? I had to look those guys up. I thought they were just made up names. Those are their “actual” starters.” Silver lamented. “So when I hear critics say that I should be punishing the Nets for playing Archie Goodwin or Joe Hamilton too many minutes, I have to laugh. can you really tell me that Spencer Dinwiddie is really any worse than Brook Lopez? I don’t think so.”

Leave a Reply

