Current Lakers getting real tired of hearing about Kobe and his “81 points”

The Los Angeles Lakers are currently 3-19 so you’ll have to forgive them if they are a bit short-tempered these days.

kobe-face

While the team is in a rebuilding mode with roster filled with young inexperienced players there is one veteran that is apparently rubbing many around the club the wrong way.

That would be 17 time All-Star and five time NBA Champion 37 year old Kobe Bryant.

“When I first came to LA, I thought it would be cool to be on the team with Kobe.” says shooting guard Nick Young. “But every single day it’s “well you know I scored 81 points once, right?” I mean that was what? In 2004 or something?”

Young isn’t alone in feeling that way.

Jordan Clarkson tells a similar story. “We are waiting in line to get on the bus to the arena and Kobe cuts in front of everyone. He says “maybe when you score 81 points in a game, then you can get on first.”

Forward Julius Randle has a unique story. He tells of a time that he was with a dinner date at a downtown Los Angeles steakhouse. “Me and this girl that I had been seeing for a few months, were out having dinner enjoying the conversation. Kobe showed up, ate my steak, finished my drink and took my girl home with him. When I asked him about it the next day at practice he was just like “Well, let me ask you something Julian. Have YOU ever scored 81 points in a single game?”

“I mean we know how great he used to be but it’s just getting old. He can’t even score eight points in a game these days. It takes him 81 shots to get 15 points now.”

“And my name is JULIUS!”

Leave a Reply

